Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

There is a strong controversy that whether old friends are important for personal happiness or new friends; however some people hold the views of old friends are crucial for happiness in life but I believe that making new friends are not less important for happy life. In the following paragraph I will elaborate my viewpoint with two reasons.

First of all, old friend are not available in all situations in life where need. People have to move different places for various purposes. They can’t handle all the matter arises alone, they have to depend on others for helping. So it is most important to make new friends to cope up the difficult situations and make the life more comfortable and easy. A real example in my life clearly illustrate the fact; when I joined in a new university as a lecturer that is far from my home town I felt very pressure with my work. But within few days one of my junior colleague became very close to me and help me to reduce my work load by doing some by himself.

In addition, it is not true that old friend is always understand you, or keep in touch with you in your bad time or happy moment; not all old friend is close enough to console you when you are in grieve or make you happy. I have few friends whom were very close to me when I was almost 15 years old. I used to play with them, study with them but although they are still my friend but do not understand what I am like or dislike, one of them hurt me some times due to misunderstanding. Now I am 30 years old, I could not share my feelings with them because I think I have many new trustworthy friends then them.

In conclusion, although people say that ‘old is gold’ but it is not right that all old friends are make your life so comfortable.