Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Universities should spend as much money on sports as they do on libraries.

I strongly agree with the statement that universities should use their funds on sports as much as libraries. The reasoning behind is that it gives an opportunity to maintain a healthy lifestyle for students and that it enables students to interact with various people.

To begin with, most students are under the high pressure of studying at all times from the moment that they entered a university. Their main objective is obtaining high GPA, and this fact made students always feel anxious about their study and sit in front of a desk for long hours, which will be bad for their posture. Even, they might never think of caring their health by themselves. Therefore, it is so important that a university should have the responsibility to take care of their students’ health. For instance, when I was a freshman, I was so frustrated that I had never been to college gym during the first year’s semester, and suffered back illness through the whole year. One day, I heard that the school gym opened a yoga program with a professional instructor, so I joined the program and eventually could recover my back. It also helped me concentrate on the class.

Secondly, it is so hard for some students who are obsessed about their scores to leave their desks to make the time to meet new friends. By creating new athletic programs or updating equipment in the gyms, these students will be interested in do some exercises. Moreover, these activities will enable students to interact with various people, since most students tend to take courses that are related to their major, so the people they met are restricted. For example, I had to take one athletic course in order to graduate, so I took swimming class in my last semester. By swimming regularly, I could not build stamina to perform better in class, and get along with friends who were in different majors. After I graduated the university, I still have contact with these friends, and whenever I encounter problems, they help me in various fields, since they have worked in different domains.

In conclusion, universities should more focus on sports because there are several benefits that students can have. Students have the right to not only study but also be health during their universities years.