Is it more important for a teacher to try to help students to gain self-confidence than to teach them specific knowledge.

We should try to think about which characteristic is the most important thing as a student, whether it is specific knowledge or self-confident. It was commonly thought that students’ best aim is studying hard and getting high GPA, it is true that study is one thing that students must do but I firmly argue that gaining self-confidence is more important than accumulating knowledge. The reasoning behind is that students should not be measured by scores but be considered as many possibilities of human being with self-confidence.

To begin with, teachers should help students to grow their self-confidence because it enables them to have a will to challenge something. To be specific, there might be huge differences between a student who were forced to study all the time and a student who were encouraged to gain self-confidence when they encounter a big life changing chances in their lives. For instance, when it comes to deciding a future job, the student who only knows about study might be reluctant to get special job, like “ a youtube creater”, more specifically they might have limited view of occupation. On the other hand, the students who have self-confidence will choose their job whatever they want with confident.

Secondly, some people still think that students must study. I can confidently argue that self-confidence must affect students who study hard in a positive way. To be more specific, self-confident will make students study harder, it motivates them to study. For example, I was a very introvert student, when I was in high school but I liked learning something. My teacher encouraged me to participate in academic contests and I could win the best prize in that competition. I would have never imagined to attempt a contest, unless my teacher tried to do me so. So, I could put this prize on my résumé and enter a prestigious university.

To conclude, teacher should not only teach academic skills and knowledge but also encourage and motivate students to challenge and give courage to confront every situation.