Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today's complicated world we live in, most projects should be accomplished in groups. It comes as no surprise that there are various means of communication which can significantly affect the progress of a group project. There is a substantial number of people who incline toward the idea that if classmates or co-workers communicate about a project in person rather than by e-mail, they will have more chance of success. I firmly concur with their opinion. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated upon and exemplified in the ensuing paragraphs by focusing on two outstanding reasons.

The first imperative point to be mentioned is that people can save their time by conducting a project in person. As a matter of fact, face-to-face communication has a more efficient approach because there is no delay or procrastination between discussion. Unlike e-mail or other modern means of exchanging messages, not only can in-person talk directly deliver the verbal messages but also non-verbal communications such as facial expressions and body gestures substantially affect the real notion of the messages. Perhaps one more specific and firsthand experience can shed more light on the matter. When I was an undergraduate student in polymer engineering, I had to fulfill an assignment about the biodegradable plastics in a group. Because both of my classmates had a vacation back then, we had to conduct the project with e-mail. Consequently, it took an inordinate amount of time to accomplish the project due to the long delays. Moreover, there were copious errors and misunderstanding which led to negative ramifications. Had our project carried out in person, we would have had more chance of fulfilling a more prosperous project.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that face-to-face discussion can stimulate new ideas. No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that those who exchange copious ideas in a real situation, increase the chance of bringing up innovative ideas. Take students who should conduct a project with their teachers. If they have to send a variety of e-mails, they miss the chance of arousing new opinions. They cannot continuously cultivate their minds and will deprive of making instant notions in their minds.

All in all, contemplating all the aforementioned remarks, one could conclude that in-person communication not only can prominently boost the efficiency and prosperity of a project by evoking new ideas and brainstorming but also accelerate the pace of the progress of it.