Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Younger school children (ages five to ten) should be required to study art and music in addition to math, science, history and language.

It is incontrovertibly axiomatic that in today’s sophisticated world, with the galloping development in technology, education have the key role in the life of younger school children, because having a prosperous life in the future is not feasible without a proper education. Assorted approaches could be implemented by education policy-maker to help children benefit greatly from their time in school. With this in mind, a heated controversy exists among people as to whether or not younger student, particularly ages five to ten, should be necessitated to study art and music, as well as math, science, history and language. Although it is hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I am, to great extent, on the belief that it is more beneficial for student to study art and music along with other courses for quite a few reasons, among which two conspicuous ones are substantiated in following paragraph.

To commence, the first exquisite reason which advocate my viewpoint is the great importance of time during school period. Younger school children have a great free time in the day, which can be managed effectively in school by learning different art and music such as painting, playing different kinds of music instruments, and acting, to name but three, rather than wasting their time on fruitless activities such as playing computer games. Furthermore, it stands to reason that by exposing students to various kinds of activities and instructions, they would more wisely find their interest and passion, which is of paramount importance to choosing their future job and having a prosperous life in the future. The noteworthy interesting social research conducted in my country, Iran, illustrates that by considering two different school with same age of children, that only in one of them children take music courses four hours in a week, at the end of semester it is revealed that the average scores of final exams for those children taken music course are 20 percent more than of those in other school. Hence, these worthwhile statistics throw some light on the point that younger student not only have enough time for taking art and music course, but also these course have a great influence on their total final scores.

Alongside with the first reason elaborated above, the fact that music and art have a profound effect on student’s mind is another point which requires meticulous attention. It is confirmed that listening and playing music instrument such as piano and violin as well as other kind of art like painting not only give younger students more chance to relieve their stress and tension, specifically when they are overwhelmed and saddled with a lot of tasks and projects, but also bring them and their peers a sheer sense of enjoyment and happiness. Furthermore from the medical perspective, while individuals are listening to music, after a while a specific kind of hormone produce from their brain, which bring about a sense of happiness as well as promote the rate of learning. However, what I mentioned above might not be overgeneralized to all context. Some students do not enjoy listing to music and get angered from it. Nevertheless, rarely can all students be classified in this category.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are always some exceptions which excluded from the general rule, I do agree that the benefits of music and art are substantial for younger student and they should be required to study music and art courses in addition math, history, and language. To recapitulate the reasons, not only do younger students have great free time, which should be used in an effective way, but also the effect of music and art on the student’s brain could not be overstated. Consequently, I strongly recommend that policy-maker devote sufficient budget to schools for offering music and art courses.