Do you agree or disagree?

Standardized Tests Like the Toefl Provide Sufficient Information to Determine Whether Students Should Be Admitted to a College or University Essay

Give your reasons and examples to support your view

During the university admission period, standardized tests such as TOEFL and IELTS help students to be accepted by the universities and colleges. It is believed that these exams are enough to determine one’s English skills. I somewhat agree with this statement, because there are lots of factors that should be considered.

The main reason why I believe these standardized tests are sufficient to determine one’s English skills is because of the way the test is created. There are four sections in these tests: reading, listening, speaking and writing. These four parts of the exam define student’s skills in most important parts of English. Reading is for memorizing the most important information from the text. Listening is used to understand and memorize important information in a lecture or dialogue. Speaking is, I believe , the most significant aspect in English. This part of exam determines student’s ability to properly express their opinion on different topics or problems. Finally, the last section is writing which measures student’s capability of writing a proper essay that is easy to understand.

In addition, while preparing for these tests, you can use English in your everyday life, for example when talking to a foreigner or writing a message to someone in the Internet. You can also learn lots of new information from the practice test you pass, because most of the material in these practice tests are scientific, historic and overall useful information for studying.

However, there may be some misunderstandings while passing the exam. For instance, the student may not feel well or he may be sick. Student can also be very nervous during an exam and pass not as good as he did on practice test, so he doesn’t get the grade he deserves.

In conclusion, I somewhat believe that standardized test like TOEFL can truly determine students’ skills in English. This is because these exams provide information about students’ ability in main 4 parts of English. However, there may be some errors and misunderstandings during the exam that can happen to students.