Do you agree or disagree?

One can learn a lot about a person from the books and movies that he likes.

I firmly agree with the statement that we can learn a lot about another person from the books and movies the person likes.

Firstly, as the saying goes, we are what we read. books, as the unparalleled form of human civilization, bear the wisdom of people in history. if we pour our heart into reading of classics, not only can we experience humankind’s marvelous tangible achievements, we can also appreciate all the sparkling pearls of human thinking, i.e., philosophy, literature, history, etc. that will in turn mold our characters and influence our values. movies, as the new form of art and storytelling, have a likewise influence in shaping us. if someone enjoys certain books and movies, we can handily figure out who influenced them, and make a guess about their values and worldview. Let’s say, if a friend has an insatiable appetite for science fiction novels, he/she probably likes science subjects more than liberal arts and there’s also a good chance that he fancies the movie 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Secondly, we are what we choose. reading books or watching movies is not merely a passive process. On the contrast, people actively make their choices based on their taste and values. As a result, if we are informed of what someone enjoys reading or watching, we can trace back about what their taste is. For instance, if a friend likes watching detective movies and reading detective novels, we can have an idea that he/she may as well likes riddles and puzzles, as riddles and puzzles share some commonality with detective novels in terms of the reasoning part.

To sum it up, books and movies people enjoy show their interests and tastes, and reading books and watching movies also shape their personality and values. In consequence, if we have a look at their read-list and watch-list, we can have a quite informative idea of who they are and what they like.