Following are three choices to protect the local environment. Which one do you think is the best and explain why.

1. Plant trees and create gardens

2. Local shops do not provide consumers with plastic bags

3. Take public transportation and reduce the use of private cars on local roads

us">Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today."

us">With the purpose of environment protection and the consideration of convenience brought by enhanced public transit system, an increasingly amount of people start to take buses or undergrounds for commuting. This leads to some people thinking that there will be fewer cars in use in the future. Personally, I think chances are high that there will be even more cars in twenty years than today. I will clarify my idea with three reasons.

us">Firstly, cars are more convenient than public transit for most people. we have more freedom when we drive a car than taking a public vehicle. that is, we can go anytime we want, stop somewhere close to our destination, thus saving time and avoiding the hassle of catching buses or subways. Without a car, it usually takes more time to go someplace, which consequently, limits the range of our living area. take me as an example. Two years ago, when we had a child, my wife suggests that we should take the baby out to a park every Saturday. Initially, we took the subway to go to parks. Soon it became too much of trouble because of the baby’s trolley cart was not easy to take to the subway, and it also took us a lot of time to reach the subway station. After we bought a car, everything became much more convenient, hence making the excursions every week much more fun.

us">Secondly, the automobile industry is still a growing sector in many developing countries. The average car holder rate is still far below developed countries and it’s still in a growing trend in developing countries. take China for an example. During the past ten years, the growth of car sales has been increasing yearly. even so, only 1 out of 4 families own a car. With the growth of disposable income in less developed areas, it’s widely believed that we will see more cars sold in the coming years.

us">Last but not least, cars will be more environment friendly in the coming years, which will reduce public concerns of the pollution it caused. Specifically, the advent of electric cars is reshaping the automobile industry today. instead of petroleum or diesel, electric cars are powered by electricity, which generates none, if any, toxic gas. The sale of electric care is boosting around the world as is widely seen as the future of automobiles. that will fundamentally change the view of environment conservationists and make more people willing to drive a car instead of taking public vehicles.

us">In conclusion, with the convenience of driving and the further development of electric cars, combined with the economic growth of developing countries, the number of cars is very likely to continue its growth in the coming 20 years.