Following are three choices to protect the local environment. Which one do you think is the best and explain why.

1. Plant trees and create gardens

2. Local shops do not provide consumers with plastic bags

3. Take public transportation and reduce the use of private cars on local roads

As the consciousness of environmental conservation has been increasingly raised, people are dedicated to a number of measures to impede our planet from deteriorating. Being a member of global village, I am pro the opinion that planting vegetation is the most effective way to improve this environmental issue.

Admittedly, stop offering plastic bags in stores sounds a reasonable method where consumers could not obtain free plastic bags when they checking out. However, what can those who are still want to use plastic bags do? Would they be tamed to accept without using it anymore? The answer might be skeptical. Plastic bags could be found everywhere and not to mention you can buy it even though there is no free one. For instance, if every grocery store does not provide plastic bags for packaging, they would either purchase zipper bags to keep their food fresh instead or buy garbage bags if they originally using free plastic bags as trash bags. In light of these circumstances, we could not alleviate the ecological pollution efficiently by means of limiting people’s plastic usage.

On the other hand, even though the concept of promoting public transportation in order to decrease the amount of private cars is quite optimal, but it exists some practical issues. The problem we could imagine is how people can withstand a five minutes-drive become a thirty minutes-bus ride when you are rush to get to the school? If you are facing whether to have a cost-effective drive or to have a time-consuming ride but it can save the earth especially when you do not have enough time, I think it is simple to make a choice which is that you would prefer driving a car. In addition, it is ridiculous that you tell those who do already have a car that do not drive it but keep paying registration fee annually. As a result, I do not consider that encouraging taking public transportation is a decent method for resolving environmental destruction.

In contrast, greening our hometowns and cities, from my point of view, is much more effective and feasible than aforementioned means where the reason is that it can be conducted by either individuals or governments without sacrificing a lot of their time and money. In other words, since people could just cost a little money to have some pots of plants and only spend a little time on watering them, they would rather do this than wasting time on bus or living without plastic bags. Furthermore, local governments may promote cities' greening schemes via planting trees and building parks or gardens, which the cost might lesser than constructing infrastructures. Consequently, in view of cost-efficiency of this measure, it would be the most effective way to protect the planet.

In summary, based on the above analysis, despite certain merits of prohibiting plastic bags and supporting public transportation rides, I believe that the best and the most functional approach in terms of ecological conservation is greening the places we are living in.