Does the feeling students have about their teacher matter?

The feeling between students and teachers is one of the most important things in education that we may sometimes ignore it. If we want students to learn good, we must pay attention to the feeling that they have to their teachers. Some people think this feeling is important and matter, while, others believe it is not important. Here I have two reasons for holding this idea that why, I think a student must like the teacher to learn from her/his.

First, if a student likes the teacher, he/she will learn better. (Add this: When you have a positive feeling to someone, you will listen to and obey him/her more). Just imagine that you have to see someone for almost six hours a day, all week long for nine months and you do not like that person. Well, this situation will be really annoying. But, it will be even worth when you have to listen to that person carefully and learn from him. All scientific researches has proved that if you do not like a person, your brain will make a defensive wall against him and you will not listen to him effectively; consequently, accept everything he says hardly. It can be one of the worst things which can happen for a student. I remember when I was in second grade of elementary school, I had a teacher who slapped into my face one time and after that I did not like her anymore. I even did not want to go to her class and it was the worst year of my education. That is why, my convention is that the feeling students have to their teacher matter.

Second, students will participate in class more happily. If you love someone, no matter how much you are tired or busy, you will set a plan to meet that person and it can be the same about teachers and school too. When I was in high school, I had a friend who had some financial problems and had to work very hard; but just because she liked one of our teachers, she was always doing her best to participate in the class. However, she had not enough time to study, but based on her deep and positive feeling to our teacher, her grades were always very good in that specific subject. In contrast, I know so many students who do not take classes or study well, just because they do not like their teacher.

To cut the long story short, all I want to say is that teachers are one of the most important part of the education system; and, I believe we must pay a close attention to characteristics of the people who are going to be hired as teachers; why so, they can make students love school and studying or make them hate it. That’s why I think student’s feeling to their teacher is really important and they must like their teachers not only to learn from them, but also to enjoy all twelve years which they spend in school.