Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cellphone, online games and social networking websites.

In modern sophisticated world, the importance of following the education specially for the youth has become a controversial issue. A multitude of people are of the opinion that the education at contemporary time has become arduous compared to previous generation because of the arrival of cutting-edge technology, others hold opposite side, stating development of technology has a positive impact on students’ educations. The question is whether the advancement of the mass media, social media, and games has negative effect on pupils’ education or not. I profoundly subscribe to this consensus that claims students’ education has become demanding nowadays. There are several reasons, two of which will be explained in the ensuing essay.

To begin with, utilizing cell phones and a wide range of games disturb students’ concentrations. Playing games motivates students to spend a lot of time on their phone or their laptop, which reduce the time they can spend on their studying. Moreover, even usage of their cell phones and all electronical devices for studying might distract their attention. My personal experience demonstrates a compelling reason of this. When I was at high school, I was playing a game named ’The Sims’ on my laptop. Whenever I intended to work on my high school project on my laptop, instead of focusing on preparing my Power Point, I played that game. Eventually, I got a low score and failed that exam, for having a game that I installed on my laptop for my recreation. Had not have that game on my laptop, I would have not been distracted.

Another reason worth mentioning is that an innate desire for socializing encourages students to use their social media and their cell phones for interaction with others. The paramount importance of usage of social media and new sites for being in contact with others provokes students to use their cell phone meanwhile they are studying. Every time students check their phone to answer their calls and messages, they do not give up and continue talking with others. For instance, a friend of mine who was in elementary school was addicted to checking her cell phone every twenty seconds. As time went by she lost her control on spend hours on her phone, which brought her series of problem at school, since she could not live without her phone, and we were not allowed to use our phone at school. As a result, Individuals tendency to fulfill their desire of socializing might cause students to use their devices and lose their time for studying.

All in all, distraction that is caused by using devices and humans’ desires for interaction are the reasons that make it a tall task for students to focus on their education at the current era.