Essay topics: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are all interested to find out how successful people gain success. A majority of people claim that successful people tend to take risks and avoid only doing what they have already know. This statement is somewhat reliable since successful people indeed do something unusual. However, their unusual behavior is based on things that have been known for a long time.

Let’s take Albert Einstein as the first example. As we all know, he invented the theory of Quantum Mechanics, which is so different from what we have already known in physics. This theory led to his personal success in the field of theoretical physics. However, almost all of us ignore the fact that he also did really well in traditional physics. He made his discovery based on his research on traditional physics. A more recent example is Steve Jobs, who is the chief executive officer of Apple. We usually oversee his achievement in the innovative Apple system and applications. In fact, without deep knowledge of basic computer system or electronic devices, he cannot put his innovation into use. Actually, successful people do take risks after they have done what they have known for sure.

Basic things can provide proof for innovative actions. Before taking risks, we just need to evaluate the risks and its proof. Anything in the world should have solid proof, or it can never become reality. To become successful, we just need to learn better about basic things, or things we have already known well, in the first place. Just as Steve and Albert, suppose they have no background knowledge at all, how can they take risks challenging?

Another importance of things we know is that they can provide some enlightens. By the time we do things that are quite familiar well, we can easily find out their limitations and come out with some methods of improvement. Einstein first did his research on lights, which is so familiar with people at time, and find out some limitations of the characters of lights. Without background information, we just cannot see the little faults, let alone take risks doing something unusual.

All in all, people who get final success actually do try things and take risks, but actually their risky behavior is based on what they have already know well. So the basic step for their success is to do familiar things well. This must be the philosophy of any successful people, and, is should also be the philosophy of all of us as well.