Essay topics: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

it goes without saying that in today's sophisticated world, people have to engage with a lot of activities and skills in order to provide necessities for life. however, recently, there has been an active controversy among people about the very notion that whether we should take risks to attain a successful life or try to stay on our safe zone, doing what we know to do well. although it is slightly hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I personally adhere to the fact that it is more sensible to concentrate on a specific career for our entire life. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this issue.

To start with, human’s mind is programmed to perform more efficiently when he tackle something several times. Put it in other words, the more we engage with some task, the more we master on its skills. A newly conducted research in some developing countries demonstrated that people who deal with a profession for more than ten years have better performances than the workers who are more likely to alter their jobs roughly each year. An example can drive this notion home. having graduated from high school, I worked for an enterprise for 5 years. there, owing to my extraordinary capability to write highly sophisticated letters, I became responsible of corresponding highly sensitive letters to other correlative companies. trying to concentrate on my duty to just write letters for the company instead of doing unrelated tasks, I became the major reference in a top-notch company whom all the company wanted to deal with. Had I not focused on one task, I would not have been able to reach such position among my co-workers.

In another point of view, someone who has a very risky character, never experience a safe stable life. however, this cannot generalized to the whole context, there are always some exceptions excluded from the general rule. it might bring an array of merits for a number of individuals, nonetheless for the majority of people, it will bring nothing but disaster. As an illustration consider the example of my older uncle. although he has a real talent in art and graphic design, he has never followed his true competence. Being a real adventurer and generalist, he was not able to choose a rightful field to work on. Therefore, he changed several jobs in 15 years from the rage of teaching, to engineering. but none could fulfill his desire. As a result, in the age of forty he gained noting noticeable comparing to his friends who chose a low risk and rewarding job which fit them and bring them a prosperous life. Had my uncle stayed in an acceptable job position, he would have had a prosperous job in the middle of his life.

In conclusion, drawing upon the aforementioned reasons, it not a sensible decision to try a multifarious careers in order to succeed. Not only can we master in a task by focusing on it, but also we can have a very prosperous and stable life, doing the things we know how to do well.