Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

To learn the essentials for our life, teachers play a pivotal role during the school years. Beside the mathematics, literature and basic experimental sciences they educate other important skills, like communication, social values, group thinking and morality. Hence, students look at their teachers as a source of precious values and information. Yet beside the teachers, friends are also of a great importance in a student life. But it is hard to judge to whom the students have more gravitation. I personally tend to believe students have more tendency to their friends especially during the high school and maturity period. I will elaborate more on this issue in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, affinity between friends work as a factor which brings unification and sodality for them. Similar in age, beliefs and interests, the students pact a powerful friendship which can last for prolong years. Generally speaking, at school age, children tend to imitate from their peers because not only do they believe the best way to behave is to be similar to the other boys or girls but also they persuade an acceptance in the friendship groups. Therefore, the presence of these powerful imitation attitudes is a strong indicator that the children more influenced by their friends. A research conducted in Harvard University at 2019 demonstrates that more than 80 percent of children between the age 8 to 15 show a same order in their treatment; it has tree stages, first step is observation, they normally look at the acceptable forms of behavior, second step is practice; they try to train the specific behavior in their solitude, and at the final step they attempt to have this specific behavior as a normal response of their own to others’ treatments. This truly can illustrate how much they need the confirmation of their friend to act and react.

The other reason for which I believe the students are rather likely to be under influence of their friends than their teachers is that, due to the power discourse, teacher are in higher levels of power, it means they have more power in class enviornment, being able to command, to punish and to judge the students. Thus, presence of a great distance between instuctors and students could be an undeniable reason for which the students would not be keen to have intimate relations with their superior. Consequently, the children be led to have more attachment to their friends who are of the same level, with no superiority among them. Obviously, we cannot deny that that teachers could be a source of inspiration for students’ plans for their future carrier but they cannot be a direct influential person in their current life. To delve more into it, consider the example of a student who loves literature, her literature teacher could be a person who she wishes to become in 20 years but the student would not be influenced by him in her childhood or even adolescence.

Drawing upon the aforementioned reasons, teacher are not the first and best goal for the students to get under their influence but it is their sincere friends who have the most influential effects on each other. Not only do the student have much more similarity and common sense but also inequality of power between teacher and students make a huge distance between them.