Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet.
it is critically important for students to use the best available resources when they
conduct research. In my opinion, it is far better to use printed materials than online
sources. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.
To begin with, printed materials such as books and articles are more reliable than
websites. this is because websites can be edited by anyone in the world, regardless of
whether or not they are qualified academics. As a result of this, even articles in popular
online encyclopedias often contain incorrect and biased information. my own experience
demonstrates the danger of relying too heavily on web-based sources of information. two
semesters ago, I was assigned a research paper in a freshman history clas. I cited data that
I found on Wikipedia which later turned out to be completely incorrect. this data was so
hopelessly wrong that my professor spotted it immediately, causing me to fail the
assignment and receive a fairly low grade in the clas at the end of the semester. If I had
taken the time to compare what I had read online to a book or a scholarly article I would
not have included it, and would not have received such a terrible score in the clas.
Secondly, books are superior to online articles because they cover topics in much
detail. Textbooks are significantly longer than online articles, so they are more useful to
students. students who use them when doing projects can also look at the detailed indexes
which they include to focus on very specific topics. For example, when I wrote an essay last
semester in a history clas, the very first book that I consulted contained a long description
of the both the underlying causes and long-term effects of the historical event I was writing
about. In contrast, most of the online articles that I consulted contained little more than
superficial facts and dates. I based my research on the book rather than these articles, so I
was able to write a very insightful essay.
In conclusion, I strongly believe that printed information is more useful than online
resources. this is because books and printed journals are less likely to be biased or contain
errors, and because books provide a superior level of detail.