The extended family is less important now than in the past.

If we see and analyse the size of family since last 20 years, we can see huge negative slope in the size of the family. These days most of the family consists of mainly father, mother and their one or two children. However, I strongly disagree with this changes in family system as well as with the statement that nuclear family is more important these days than joint family. In order to support my argument, I would like to discuss on three aspects of joint family focused on raising of children, security and health benefits.

First, the mixture of generation of people right from grandparents, parents, cousins, uncle and others, create a quite unique environment in present world where most people are living in small flat with just three family members. These kind of environment is quite beneficial for children who are of learning age, as they can learn many things from their family environment. Further, right from the begining they understand how to be social, they can regard different viewpoints of many people, as well as they learn many life ethics and manner from quite elder person. For example, if we see the raising of children in Canada and Nepal, we can find quite huge difference with their social behaviour and ethics. In Nepal still many family are joint family and children develop in presence of large amount of members and they adapt likewise to be indulge in social life. However, the small family limits the social environment for children developing in Canada.

Second, another benefits of joint family is the security and safety around the large family. For instance, lets take a example of a labour lives in a joint family and he has to perform some late night work in his work place, in this sort of situation, it will be quite easy for him to leave his children at home as their will be someone like grandparents to take care of children. So, in the present world which run behind economy and demand huge amount of time in workplace, the worker will feel secure and comfortable in their work if they are living in joint family. Further, joint family also has some financial security. In most of the joint family, the financial burden of the family is always shared among the family members which make it quite easy for all the family members to live, as quite small contirbution from every members can collect huge amount of money.

Even though, there are many benefits from the joint family, there can be some minor problems in the joint family. As we can consider there is mixture of people under one roof, there will also be mixture of perception. Conseqently, the perception mixture can often result misunderstanding and quarrelsome environment. However, these kind of environment is also present under nuclear family. So, every family need some sort of compromises and understanding to be happy, considering all those merits and demerits I belive joint family has more benefits than harm.

Therefore, these three aspects show the importance of joint family over small one in present economy focused, fast moving world.