in general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

There are a plethora of reasons why human life spans are longer than ever before. In my opinion, there are two main reasons why people are living longer, which are improvements in medical technology and working conditions. In the following essay, I will explore these two reasons in detail.

First of all, medical technology has developed in amazing ways, and can both prevent and cure many different illnesses. Hundreds of diseases that might have killed us in the past can now be treated in safe and non-invasive ways. Not only that, but technology can be used to identify potential illnesses even before they occur. For example, I was told that my great-grandfather died of a heart attack when he was just forty-five years old, despite appearing outwardly healthy to his family. However, thanks to modern medicine, I now know that males in my family are genetically predisposed to heart disease. Thanks to this information I know to be extra-careful about my diet and when I exert myself. When I am older I will begin taking blood thinning medicine as a preventive measure. My great-grandfather did not have access to the predictive power of modern medicine and was not able to protect himself like I do today.

Secondly, improved working conditions help us live longer, as humans today have safer and less strenuous jobs than people in the past. My great-grandfather was not the only male in my family to die at a young age, as his brother passed away when he was in his fifties. His brother did not die from heart disease, but died from lung disease brought on by many years of working in a dirty coal mine. The physical toll of his work and the dusty air he breathed every day caused him to develop cancer, which eventually claimed his life. He was not the only person in his society to be killed by his job, as it was common for men and women to work in dangerous resource extraction jobs, or to put in twelve hour days at terribly unsafe factories. People back then had neither safe working conditions nor effective safety equipment. Modern workplace safety rules and regulations, however, prevent the same tragedies from happening today.

In conclusion, I believe that people are living longer today for two main reasons. They are that doctors have access to a wide range of technology to both cure and prevent illnesses, and because our jobs are safer and less taxing than in the past.