A gift (such as a camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child’s development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

There are many things that can contribute with the development of children. People are not concurred upon this topic, and each person's opinion will rely on many factors such as social, cultural, and even economical backgrounds. As far as I'm concern, a computer is the best gift for a child because it provides more than one activity that a child can do. In order to support my point, I will develop some arguments in the next paragraphs.

In the first place, with a computer a child can plays educational games over the internet while he or she is learning. Without any question, heretofore, there is not innovation as the computer. With this amazing machine there are piles of activities that one can do. Therefore, it can be used to read online books that are available for free, or to play educational games that help with the brain development of the child. To illustrate that, let's refer to my nephew Michael, he is only 6 years old and at his age, he surpasses the intelligence of a child older. Due to the fact that my nephew has been using his computer since the age of 4 and playing in educational websites that besides teaching the child also improves their memory. I'm sure that if Michael continues in this way he will be a genius in the future.

Another important aspect that should be reflected in this explanation is that with a computer children can make their homework. As we should know, today, there is not necessity of visiting the public library because they are available online. Therefore, this fact is beneficial for everyone; but children are the most important because they can use this astonishing tool from their own houses without step outside. For instance, my little sister who has a laptop that my mother gave her for her birthday is the best example of that. Actually, she is in 6th grade and she receives her homework assignments by email, and even researches everything online. This is great because she saves time and she does not rely on me to help her.

Finally, with a computer children can learn the basic usage and teach their parents. There are adults people who didn't have the chance to learn how to use computers when they were children, thus if their children learn, parents might take this opportunity to learn from their children as well. This fact, not only will be fun, but also it will contribute with the children development.

To sum up, for the reasons stated above, I consider that a computer is the best gift for children because they can play and learn at the same time. Also they can make their homework from their houses, and teach parents as well.