"A gift (such as a camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child's development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice."

Some gifts have an impact on kids' development. If I had to give a child a gift, I would give an animal such as a dog or cat. Some children love playing with animals, and also animals keep them company. Consequently, children would learn compassion, empathy, and other virtues from animals.

To begin with, animals play an important role in the lives of those who own them because they bring joy when their owners are sad. Moreover, pets can contribute positively to the development of a child. For instance, positive relationships with pets can help children develop trustworthiness in relationships with others. Having a pet can teach children responsibilities and promote empathy, and also the capacity of caring for another life. The company of pets has been helpful in the lives of children because it keeps them more active than those who do not own a pet. Therefore, researchers have found enough evidence to prove that having a pet helps people to reduce levels of stress, and lower their heart rate. Not to mention, If a child developed a good connection with their pet, it would mean that the child would grow in an environment full of love, compassion, and harmony.

On the other hand, giving a camera or a soccer ball to a child might sound like a good idea. A camera can allow a child to capture any moment with just a simple click, but can take away from the present moment. Meanwhile, children with a pet can create lifelong memories as well as many other countless experiences. In contrast, cameras are not able to capture these types of moments in life because living the moment is more than just a picture. Furthermore, when kids receive a gift like a soccer ball, they might play for a few moments, then they would forget it. Perhaps, they could play with the ball when they are bored or when they feel alone which can make them feel more lonely because they won't have a partner to play with. On the contrary, pets, such as cats and dogs come looking for their owners, moving their tails, licking their faces, encouraging them to play and making them feel love and special.

In conclusion, animals are the best gift a child could receive in order to contribute in their development. Owning an animal creates longlife memories, and teaches new virtues from animals which a camera or a soccer ball cannot provide.