The government has announced that it plans to build a new university. Some people think that your community would be a good place to locate the university. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of establishing a new university in your community.

It is obvious that there are both advantages and disadvantages for our community if the government builds a university here. In my view, I strongly believe that its advantages overweight its negative sides.

Establishing a college here will generate the large number of job opportunities. It is extremely inevitable to need many employees for such a big institution, such as dustmen and doorkeepers. This will efficiently create fairly more positions and relieve the pressure of local unemployment. For example, since my father is good at cooking and lost his job, he is applying for the positons as a chief in this university. If he will get the job, he could not only make a living and support our family, but also make a small contribution to the college.

More local high school students will choose this university as it provides them more convenience. With the college around their home, they are able to save the huge amount of time on the roads and therefore have more extra time to do other things like accompanying their family and taking part in various activities. For example, I will be certainly choose the community university, for it is extraordinary convenient for me to take care of my grandmother. In fact, my grandmother is too old to do some essential things, such as cooking and washing clothes. If I will study near my home, I would live home and help her with difficulties. Besides, I can have more time accompany my family and hence connect each other closely.

Surely, during setting up the university, noise and pollution are the uncomfortable and serious issues, which highly disturb people’ life. But it is temporary. After the constructions are completed, local people can make best use of some places and equipment. For instance, the elder can do morning exercise in the playground and the adults can plan balls with their friends on weekends. The existence of the university increase the chances of entertainment.

In a word ,people living in the community are greatly beneficial from the new university, like to deal with the local unemployed workforce and to give local students benefits. Comparing with its advantages, the positive ways make better difference.