The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the level of violent crimes in the society. Do you agree or disagree?

Youth violence is a booming social problem nowadays. Regardless of whether it requires the government intervention or not, it has to be dealt with utmost care. Some people holds the opinion that government should regulate the media because it allegedly promotes violence through films and television. In my viewpoint, government’s regulation would not be the only solution to this problem.Below are the following reasons which support my stand.

Firstly, mass media through films and television perhaps contains the bits which can spread violence among the youth but simultaneously these shows teach us many good personality traits. For instance, I reside in India and here Bollywood movies are quite famous. Few months back, URI movie was released. It had a patriotic genre and was based on the Surgical Strike conducted by India in 2016 as the aftermath of the terrorist attacks which took away the lives of innocent civilians. This movie had a lot of violence, coercion and illegal techniques. But alongside it also instilled the feeling of patriotism among the people watching it. The movie had a lot to teach. I taught us the meaning of team spirit, hard work and determination. Moreover, it was considered revolutionary movie of the era. Therefore, putting the restrictions on such prominent movies will not be helpful.

Secondly, since this is an era of internet and technology, it would be very difficult for the government to put regulations on everything. Even if they censor the mass media, it would be cumbersome to put a check on internet usage of anyone. It is nevertheless duty of the parents to have control on their children. They should observe and scrutinize the activities of them starting from the childhood so that their children don’t end up doing some misdeed. It is the values that parents teach them during the adolescence which stays with them forever. For instance, recently there was a game blue whale on android, it had many stages which ultimately brings the player to suicide. It was a sort of brain washer game challenging the young youth to play till end. Many teens lost their lives due to this. Hence, this was not the media which was at fault but this time it was the apks at the android store. Therefore, to curb such things parents should be the watcher of their children then only such things can become controllable.

To sum up, only government intervention would not serve the purpose but concurrently the parents and society also have to step forward to shape the youth. Furthermore, if government can control only the media but not the internet and other social sites. Hence the youth should become themselves responsible about what is right and wrong.