If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

1- Find a roommate to share a room

2- Do not buy the latest mobile phone, Buy new technological devices less frequently

3- Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

Youngsters have always been trying to decrease living expenses to save money and spend it on vital priorities. Some of them prefer to do that by buying new technological devices less often or cocking at home instead of eating at restaurants. While some others try to find a roommate to decrease their costs. In this regard, if my friend asks me to suggest to him a way to reduce living expenses, I will highly recommend him to find a roommate. That is because he can share common costs with his roommate. Also, that is an opportunity to use some of his roommate's devices. My reasons are elucidated in detail hereunder.

First of all, by sharing some costs with a roommate, a big part of my friend's costs will reduce. He can share the rent of the house, furniture, and bills with his roommate. Put simply, these costs are more in comparison with buying a new phone or eating food outside. Therefore, a roommate could decrease living expenses more than other options. My personal experience illustrates this issue quite well. When I was a student my father gave me an amount of money to rent a house. I tried to find a house that I could afford, but even the price of renting an ordinary house was incredible. Consequently, I asked my friend to rent a house with each other. Moreover, we bought some furniture and divided its cost among ourselves. As a result, my living expenses reduced noticeably and I could save more money monthly. After three months I bought a great mobile phone with the money that I saved. While had I not found a roommate I would not have afforded to rent a house.

As the second reason, my friend can borrow his roommate laptop for doing what he needs. Consequently, it is not crucial for him to buy a laptop and he can save his money. In other words, roommates could exchange some of their devices like laptops, cameras, and mobile phones. They can incredibly reduce living expenses by doing this. For example, my brother lives with his friend in a rental house. He is an architect and usually needs a laptop for doing his works. However, most of his income spend on rent's cost and he can't buy a laptop. Therefore, he usually borrows his roommate' laptop. Also, sometimes, his roommate borrows my brother camera. By doing such exchanges not only do they reduce living expenses but also learn cooperation.

To sum up, finding a roommate reduces some costs related to renting a house, furniture, and bills. In addition, the possibility of exchanging some devices like laptops and cameras causes a decline in costs. These are my reasons for why I believe that finding a roommate is the most effective way of reducing living expenses.