Imagine that you are a student at a university where there are long breaks between semesters. The university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break.

a. Students must take a course which has no direct connection to their major (for example, students majoring in engineering take a course in fine arts or social sciences)

b. Students must volunteer to work on a project in their university’s city or hometown to improve some aspect of life in the city or hometown. For example, a student can work with primary school children who need help with their homework.

Which one do you prefer? Present reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an old proverb that says: "any individual has to seize the opportunity," it means that, the opportunities are just like the blazing stars; Whenever a person sees a blazing star, begins to wish so if the opportunities be assumed as a blazing star which is exactly next to a person, he/she has to catch it. In my opinion, being volunteer at the university in order to work on a project weather in the university's city or any student's hometown is a suitable opportunity for both the students and the society because of the reasons which are followed later.

First, Working on a project is really quite beneficial to students. Wherever the project is but university—or everywhere the members are not necessarily at the same age range of the very person—can provide a good experience for the any individual because it is a chance for a person to evaluate him/herself to understand that if he/she is capable to overcome the problems, whatever they are. For example, because time tends to be more sensitive when working out of the university than in the university, they will learn how to manage their time as well as do the assigned task in an effective way. In addition, a person who is working out of a university is alleged to be more patient because he/she may face a wide variety of behaviors. Therefore, it is expected that the very person become more patient than the one who has no experience in working out of his/her university. Nevertheless, this person may lose a course which although may have no direct connection to his/her major, he/she loves that course. Besides, taking a course in another field of studying tend to inhibit a person of being unidimensional.

Second, it has some advantages for the society as well. Involving in the projects will effect on both educational and modest behavior aspects of a society. It is an open secret to everyone that neither education nor experience is enough for any stuff but if both education and experience come together, they will have a positive effect on any stuff. Thus, if an educated student helps an experienced man, this goal will be achieved. Furthermore, helping people in a modest manner by the students will have influences on the others; they will learn how to be reverent even if they are educated. In the other hand, students teach the people a life-turning lesson which hardly can be teach in any school or university. Nonetheless, taking a course in the other field has some beneficial too; it will help the students to study in the courses which finally effect on the society through improving the students' ability to understanding at least one point of view of the other people. However, working on a project tends to boost the whole society rather than just a single person.

As a conclusion, in my viewpoint, if the students become as a volunteer to work on a project in the city, the utility of this selection tend to be for both the students and the society.