Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The more money people have, the more they should contribute to charity.

It strongly depends on the definition of charity. People typically think that charity is a money which is directly given to the poor. However, in my viewpoint, it is a narrow definition of the term. The broad definition is that, charity is any kind of help--whether money or psychic, direct or indirect--which is given to any person who is needed. If we narrow the definition to just money and direct help, I don't subscribe the idea that the more money a person has, the more he or she should spend on charity. There are miscellaneous reasons, two of the paramount ones are stated in details hereunder.

Without any shadow of doubt, manufacturing is the basis on which an economy of a country is constructed. Therefore, manufacturers are the ones who have a great amount of money in their hands. According to the given assumption, if the more they earn, the more they spend on charity, there will be no money left to invest on production. Hence, instead of a group of people, the whole society will get into trouble because when the amount of production reduces as a result of giving help to charity, manufacturers should lay off workers. Thus, it might cause people suffer from psychological pressure. How this problem will be handled in the society? Besides, there will be no one to help these mass of people in the long run. In contrast, manufacturers can hire the poor as workers or whatever they deserve in order to they themselves earn the money they need. In addition, according to the psychologists, it has been proved that individuals have a better feeling about themselves when they have a job and work.

Moreover, one of the chief problem that is likely to happen is that when the rich help charity, some of the poor are prone to become lazy or inactive. That means, when a poor family is being helped by the rich, they children might fall into the habit that whether they work or not, there will be someone to get help from. Consequently, it probably leads the generation of the poor to be raised. On the other hand, if the money which is considered for charity invest on building schools and help the poor--not directly--study, it will have a better influence on the growth of a society. This is, in fact, because when they study, they will understand that the more they study, the more they can be specialized, and as a result, the more they themselves can earn money. By so doing, laziness and inactiveness will be unrooted from the society and the seed of endeavor will be sown.

To sum up, with all this taken into account, I believe that it is better for society and benefactors to help the poor but not directly and by giving the money to them. Indeed, as mentioned above, it's better for them to be helped indirectly by investing on making new jobs for them as well as building new schools.