Independent Task from Toefl Sampler

I disagree about the statement “always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people’’. Perhaps, this can be a realistic notion, but I follow two reasons and examples which support my opinion.

First of all, I am inclined to believe that the truth is a significant aspect when we talk about relationships in general. In my point of view, there is not people’s ties without truth, even though, it is not totally necessary. One day, for example, I planned a surprise to my mother and while that, she was looking what exactly I was doing and then, I could not tell about it, I lie to her. Some people think it is wrong lie to your own mother, but I considered not mention it for a good cause and even lying, I did her happy.

In the second place, tell the truth can lead bad situations in relationships. From my point of view, sometimes, people do not want to know about it and just ignore personal facts, opinions and advises. A couple years ago, I had chance to tell the truth about the end of my friend’s relationship with her ex-boyfriend. She did not get my words for granted. Moreover, she thought that I was planning do something bad in her relationship. That was awful, because I almost lost her friendship and I was just trying to be honest and act like a true friend.

In conclusion, those are my reasons about why I disagree that always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. People’s relations involve different personalities and traits, especially when they are sensitive and emotional. I do not think that not talk real things with people we have feelings and ties it is a better option.