It is better to have broad knowledge on many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Depending on the purpose, stage and interest it may vary whether it is better to have an extended knowledge on many academic subjects or be specialized in a specific one. In my point of view, I think sometimes it is necessary to have a broader knowledge but in certain cases it requires specific concentration.

Choice of study firstly depends on the purpose for which one is going to prepare. A student of undergraduate level may definitely should have a different target than a graduate student. On undergraduate level, a student needs to know about various academic subjects.

A broader knowledge on different topics can help a student be acquainted with that subject and only then he can choose his comfortable area of further study. And this comfortable area is that one student chooses in his graduate level. So graduate level is the time when one needs to spend his knowledge gathered in undergraduate level and be specialized in a specific subject. For example, I did my undergraduate in Microbiology. During undergraduate level, in my four-year study, I had to take courses on different area that cumulatively represents Microbiology. I took introductory courses on bacteria, virus, algae and protozoa ; basic techniques involved in microbiology study, introductory courses for computer study on the freshman year. On the sophomore year, I had courses like mycology, biostatistics, basic biochemistry. In the last two years the courses that I studied required me to apply the knowledge that I gained on previous semesters. I found it that if the study plan did not let me to take brader knowledge on different topic, it was hard for me to complete the rest one.

Additionally, If I want to talk about the specific subject learning, I can say I needed it when I did my graduation in Microbiology. For example, from my undergraduate learning I was keen to study about Bacterial genetics which I further took as my thesis topic in graduate level. So a broader knowledge on various aspects helpmed me to take my decision of specific study area.

Again, the purpose of study may sometimes define whether it is important to gain knowledge broadly or specifically. It depends on whether you are planning for a work relevant to your specific study area or not. For example, in my country, after university level education some people go for public service commission and some people plan for research based jobs. Their purpose divides their study choice. People who plan for public service job need to study a variety of subjects like history, foreign affairs, basic computer study, general knowledge regarding national and international sphere. But a person intends to do research based work requires to choose his subject interest and have a specific knowledge on that.

So in conclusion, knowledge is always divine to take. Focusing on our choice and purpose, both broad knowledge and subject specific studies are important. We just need to set our goal first and then work for it.