The extended family is less important now that it was in the past.

The term "Family" is the structural unit of the society. The interaction between families represent the society and this pattern of interactive attitude we learn from individual families. So a family and its bonding is a very important fact. In past times, we observed the extended family but nowadays many of us prefer to be in small families. In my point of view, I think being in an extended family is less important than it was in the past. I support this for some specific reasons.

First of all, living in an extended family requires to lead life thinking all of the situations at a time but nowadays we better like to think of ourselves and this is really not possible for a single person to keep in mind all the matters at a time. It sometimes hinders our privacy.

From the early stages of the planet earth to present, there have been a massive change in the way we are joined to each other. Historical studies showed us that at a time people stay in a sect with lot of people. Not in very earlier past, we may have found that our parents also lived in a house with grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles. And they sometimes feel very nostalgic when they remind of all these. But staying all together urged them to think everything collectively but people nowadays dont like there constraints in life. For example, from my own experiences i feel like that at present living in a single family is a good option. At my home, we stay in an extended family with my aunts. When I go to my house on my weekends i sometimes feel like that I cannot maintain my privacy. When I go there I may love to spend quality times with my parents but as we are family I have to spend with them too. These may be good for after a while but you dont like this always.

Additionally, in the past people use to stay together as most of teh families were agriculture based or they tended to do their job at a common place. But as with time we are now getting educated and for earning our bread and thinking of our career we now like to move at any place for our convenience. So like the previous time this is not important to be in extended family and sometimes this is not possible anymore.

Another important fact of living together in the past was that period the extended family paid a great help to each other in family income, bringing up children etc. But at this present times, people are more financially solvent and there are lots of new amenities available to us to make our life easier. For example, when I was a kid as my mother had to be busy with her job my aunt raised me. There was no baby care centre available at that time. But now the working women are not so tensed about this.

So, although extended families had lots of advantages of living a life with great coopration but with the changing of time, our thinking and sometimes for our need a single family is better and may be easier for us to maintain.