It is better for people to choose jobs that come with high salaries even though they do not enjoy doing it than to choose jobs that they enjoy but come with low salaries.

The upsurge in the global economy and the accelerating pace of globalization has created new types of jobs, each with different roles and responsibilities. However, because many people find themselves unhappy with their position, the question of whether one should choose jobs with high salaries but low satisfaction is brought up frequently. Considering the current social trend, I agree with the statement that we should choose jobs with higher salaries, even if we do not enjoy them, with two supporting reasons.

First, a high salary is necessary to afford essential resources in the current society, and without them, we would be unhappy anyway. As an outcome of improved quality of life, various types of insurances and health care systems are becoming a quintessential element in our contemporary society. Like so, the current status quo increases our financial burdens; the aspects of life that we have to afford are expanding every day. For instance, many different types of insurances are needed, such as a house, health, and even car insurance. Although the purpose of insurance is to protect against a possible financial risk, the total cost of all the insurance added together is not less. Therefore, having higher salary jobs is better even if they are not enjoyable since a higher salary is the only way to handle increasing expenditures

Second, a higher salary can allow one to better prepare for sudden changes in one's occupation. It is possible to go through dismissals or layoffs during one's career life, due to which it is important to be prepared for such changes at all times. Moreover, during the period of searching for new jobs, financial burdens would occur because of the halt of income. For instance, many contemporary studies suggest that the average rate of hires is increasing every year, but consequently, the rate of layoffs is also in the same pattern. This means that layoffs may occur more frequently than ever before, and the period of unemployment will likely increase for individuals. If one chooses to pursue a job with a high salary, the degree of burden would decrease significantly and allow for more savings and better provisions for the future.

In the current society, money reigns over the globe, and its importance is rising every year. Due to the necessary budgets and the need for savings becoming crucial than ever before, a job that provides a higher salary would be a better choice over the other.