It is better for people to move out of their hometowns when they become adults, instead of staying in their home communities for their whole lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The transition to adulthood creates many opportunities. Among them is one of the most important decisions a young person must make: whether to stay in their hometown, closer to family, or to move away and live in a new place. From my own experience, I would definitely support the latter option, since it is difficult to grow as a person unless you see more of the world.

When I first finished school, I was faced with this choice, as most are. And although it would have been convenient to simply stay at home, I opted to move to Chinatown in New York City, where I then lived for a few years. That time proved to be vital to who I have since become, largely because I had my first real exposure to cultures other than my own. Although I had certainly met people from other countries before, Chinatown was a new world to me. I learned to appreciate how widely different cultures’ foods can vary, for example. Even small details of daily life were new to me, as when my neighbors would leave their shoes outside the front door of their apartment. Seeing different lifestyles helped me become more accepting and empathetic to people not like myself.

While the culture change was helpful, more importantly, by moving away from my hometown I also created job opportunities for myself. Within a month of moving to New York, I was working as a cook in a very highly rated restaurant, which is exactly what I wanted to do. A friend of mine who still lives in my hometown, in contrast, works at a small local newspaper that he is afraid will go bankrupt. He wants to continue work as a journalist, but there are few possibilities in the area. If he had moved to New York like I did, he would have been able to apply to larger newspapers and found a more secure job.

There are many reasons to leave home. Chances to grow as a person and to have those improved career options are only two from a much longer list. I know that one day, I personally will encourage my own children to move away from home, so they can benefit as I have from the experience.