It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast the knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why? Use specific reasons and example to

Knowledge is one of the most important factors in achievement of goals and ambitions. No matter which way you gain knowledge either through books or experience, both are essential. It is a challenging question and difficult choice because experience and books are useful and complete each other. I strongly believe learning from experience is more valuable and important than books. My points of views are based on intellectual, general and individual.

Intellectually, many of data we obtain from books are ephemeral and easily forget including scientific books, novels and recipes. There is logical explanation behind it. Researchers approve most of knowledge we gain from books is contained in temporary storage of our brain that is called short time memory. That means these data will be remove. They must be used and practiced repeatedly for being permanent. As an engineer, huge amount of knowledge that attained from books will be beneficial for being an expert if it can be incorporated to first handed experiences. Thus, direct experiences are more impressive than learning from books.

Generally, reading books is a perfect way to gain valuable knowledge but there are a lot of occasions that we cannot rely on just by reading books. There are some cases we develop our learning by experience. We cannot ride a bicycle or swim just by reading instruction. We need to practice it to learn. Besides, emotional relationships like family, friendship and social relations are not written in the books. Our social skills and wisdom is flourished by real experiences like revolutions, inventions and cooperation. So, our learning is not achievable just from books.

Individually, books are precious supplies especially when there is requirement for data like traveling. All of information can be extracted from books, internet and booklets but it is not comparable by visual memory. The visual memory is more effective toward reading. You may forget the information of booklet but you always remember all aspect of your traveling brightly. For example in university we had a subject, design of IC technology. It was an important and difficult subject. I think if we could see some movies or real expeditions about this topic, it could help us to learn and memorize the details of the lesson effectively and in permanent manner. In addition, we did not have to guess the answers of professor’s questions because we had a background about it. That is another affirmation that there are cases in which experience is more helpful.

To conclude, the knowledge, have obtained from books and experiences are important, precious and have correlation with each other. We can acquire information from books and develop our ideas by our experiences. Consequently, I clearly support this statement due to intellectual, global and individual reasons.