Many students have to live with a roommate while going to school or university. What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate?

Living away from comfort of home is not an easy job. Students start missing their family and experience some problems in dorms. There are numerous qualities for a good roommate and I explore a few of them as most important ones. On my part, the most significant features of good roommate are being respectful and responsibility.

First of all, students have brought up in different families, cultures and religions. Even more, some of them come from other countries and face a completely uncommon lifestyle, so being respectful and having an easy going personality help to match and understand each other easily. Another essential factor is respecting to privacy and rights of each other. For example, if one of roommates wants to study and the other one wants to listen music, he/she should listen with headphone and avoid disturbing the other one. Thus, being flexible one helps them to solve different problems with together and do not complain about every little aspect.

Second one, another quality that deserves considering is having responsibility to manage the living place together. They should share the tasks and cooperate in accomplishing them. As an example, I remember my student life, when I was living with a roommate, we had distributed all duties, cooking and washing dishes were mine, because I was a good chef, and the cleaning of home was belonging to my friend. In addition because we were classmate too we were helping each other in lessons and were doing common project. That kind of cooperation helps students feel more supportive and more sense of responsibility especially in emergencies like illness and studying, because they are the closest people to each other on that section of time and life.

In conclusion, living in dorms with roommates is problematic but can be a joyful experience if you live with a suitable one. There are different characteristics for an ideal roommate, but when it comes to me, I choose being respectful and responsibility as the important ones because of mentioned details.