It has recently been announced that a large shopping center may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The surrounding environment plays an important role on our lives. It is the place where we spend most of our times and live many years of our life, which leads us to think about our surroundings. Many people argue that the decision of establishing a large shopping center in our neighborhood is a fantastic idea. However, other opposes and contends that it is bad idea for allowing a shopping center to be established in our locality. In my view, the decision of establishing a large center in our neighborhood is a great thinking for few reasons, which I will elaborate in the following essay.

The main reason is that the shopping center would create employment opportunity in our locality, which is essential for a underdeveloped area like us. In order to build the shopping center, the company will recruit workers, engineers, architects and many other people. For example, few years back I was living at a city of eastern part of my country for my job. At that time, the authority gave permission for establishing a fish-processing farm. At the beginning, many people contended this decision and was creating pressure to cancel the decision. But the government was firmed about it’s decision and finally the decision proved successful. Because the project created job opportunity and many other linkage industries were created, which recruited many local people and contributed to the development of economy. This shows that how an industry can change the life style of the people of an area.

The other reason is that it would increase the collection of government revenue. This additional revenue could be used for the development of the area. This means that the government had more fund to spend for infrastructure developments like roads, bridges, highways. For instance, few years ago, a new garments factory was built. The factory paid a significant amount of money as taxes to government. As a result of commencing the garments factory, the whole area changed greatly. Many roads, highways were built for easy transportation of people and many schools were upgraded for providing the quality education to the students. This was possible only because of available funds to the government, which was collected as taxes from the factory. As you can see, these developments in my friend’s locality were not possible without the establishment of the factory.

In sum, although some oppose the plan, a shopping center would be a great a addition to my locality. Not only it will not raise the life styles of the people through creating employment opportunity but also the added government revenue could be used for the infrastructure of the area. Therefore, every city should try to introduce new business such as shopping center in their community.