During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest.

The writer concluded that panoply's workers faced less injuries than newly opened factory due to shorten working hour of workers. These two companies also produced same kind of products. As the workers of newly opened factory works longer period of time, they are incurring more accidents in the job place. The writer's comment is not complete because there are several other factors which may attribute to fewer accidents in Panoply. That's why I am not fully convinced with the comments of the writer. In the following few paragraphs, I will elaborate my opinions regarding the above comments.

Firstly, the author did not considered other factors which might contributed into the less number of injuries in Panoply. There might be significant difference in the quality of machinery and working environment between the Panoply and newly built factory. Panoply might use quality machinery in their factory which is safer for the workers and it might be one reason of less number of accidents of workers. The working environment of Panoply might be another factor for less number of injuries by it's workers. On the other hand, the newly opened factory's working environment might not be conducive for the workers, the quality of machinery also might not safe for the workers. All these factors might be responsible for higher number of injuries by it's workers.

Secondly, the Panoply might not reported all the injuries faced by it's workers. If the country where the two factories are situated has strict rules, regulations and also the compensation amount is very big then Panoply might not reported all the injuries. Therefore, without complete information it is not wise to conclude that only the difference in working hours solely responsible for less number of injuries in Panoply. It might happen that the workers of newly opened factory faced fewer restrictions than the workers of Panoply for reporting the injuries.

Thirdly, the recruitment process and wage rate of workers of two factories are also other factors for the discrepancy in number of injuries faced by the workers. Panoply might hired healthy and skillful workers for their factories with high wage rate and it resulted into the decrease number of injuries at work place. On the other hand, the newly opened factory might choose the cost effective way and recruited low skilled workers with less amount of salary and that's why their workers are facing more injuries in the work place. The difference in skills of workers also another factor responsible for incurring injuries in the work place.

Finally, we cannot conclude only the working hours is responsible for injuries faced by workers in the work place. There are several other factors like working environment, quality of machinery used in the production process, wage rate, recruitment criteria etc. all together are responsible for injuries faced by workers in working place. Therefore, without considering all other factors to come to a conclusion is not desirable at all.