Is it as important for older people to learn and study new things as young people to do so.

As a famous Chinese old quote ‘Live long, study long’ suggests, studying new things occupies one’s mind field for a lifelong time period. Now, when it comes to a question whether learning new things in old ages is as important as for the young, individuals’ opinions differ from person to person. While some might concern that since the new knowledges and skills might not benefit the old to gain an excellent career path or to use them in the societies as the young do, I, on the contrary, firmly contend that studying should be incorporated into individuals’ whole life regardless of the ages. They had commenced to do so.

One of the most compelling reasons in advocacy of the thesis is that studying new things keeps one’s life quality in a high standard. The old usually struggles from having too much time, especially for those who had dedicated their lives toward busy jobs, resulting in that they feel emptiness and boredom to their free time. Thus, studying something allows them to efficiently use their time. Take my grandfather as an instance. He has been leading a busy life working as a university professor, and did not have much of time pursuing his interest about the culture of Ninja, a group of people worked as a present agent in the old Japan. Therefore, when he had retired from his place, he went to Japan visiting places that Ninjas had lived, or attending seminars to learn about the real lifestyles of ninjas. Even though he is not making any money for studying this topic, he is very satisfied with his second life studying about special features he was interested in for the whole life. This explains that a quality of life might get ameliorated not only by making money or making friends, but also by a pure study in old ages.

In addition, since studying requires skills to think deeply or to memorize things, it can activate people’s brains. Amnesia or the deterioration of recognition are essential problems for the old. These problems are said to be the result of using brains less. Therefore, to avoid deterioration of recognition, people can devote their time on studying something to use brains. Some might start learning new languages so that they can read foreign books in original languages; some might begin working on scientific researches to chase their curiosities germane to the nature. Whatever the studying topic is, it can efficiently activate parts of brains which are scarcely used in daily lives, ultimately resulting in a preservation of healthy, fast-working brains.

Furthermore, learning new things is equal to that of expanding one’s mind field. This usually happens to the young who had studied not for a seeking of pure curiosity but instead, preparation for a harsh academic competition within peers. On the contrary, the old are never exposed these kinds of disturbance toward learning new things, therefore they can easily find out the meaning of studying and expand their mind field. For instance, a famous writer in Japan, Minato, is studying about nutrients in food which her mother did not allow her to make it as her career in her young ages. She was having a big regret on this, therefore she is learning in her age of nineties. With the big interest and motivation she has, she is very pleasant to study it, and also became more flexible to utilize things learnt into daily lives.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that things studied by the old might not make much of contributions onto the society, the benefits one gain from studying in old ages far outweighs the drawbacks of it.