Is it as important for older people to learn and study new things as young people to do so?

Whether it is important for older people to learn and study new things as young people do so is a complicated issue. Some people might argue that the elders are not necessary to learn new things. However, in my opinion, it's a crucial thing that older people should do.

One of the reasons that older people should learn new things is that new techniques and knowledge help them solve problems in their daily lives. For example, my grandma couldn't read when she was young because she grew up in a poor family and couldn't go to school. As a result, she had met a lot of troubles. She had been cheated more than 100 times in her life and always lost her way in that she couldn't read any road signs. Because of these tragedies, when all her children grew up, she decided that she need to give more time and more money for herself. She started to learn how to read when she was 60 years old. After this, she hasn't been cheated and lost her ways anymore. She even can solve many problems by herself.

Another reason is that they can become happier if they learn new things. Many old people think of themselves as useless and become depressed for they cannot chat with their grandchildren because they don't understand these kids. But if they can learn new things, they will know what are the things these kids care about and chat with them. This way, the upset older people will be more likely in good moods.

The further reason is that older people can contribute to society and our society will progress more. Many older people have great experience and horizons. Unfortunately, they can't devote their experience because they do know how to connect these to modern society. Nevertheless, if they can learn new things, they will know how to apply their old, but plentiful, experiences in this complicated world. As a result, our society will thrive since more people can contribute themselves.

Admittedly, some people may argue that it's not important for older people to learn and study new things because they need to retire. However, with the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that no matter how old a person is, it is important for themselves and for the whole society that they keep learning.