It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

In today’s hectic life, in order to afford the living expenses and earn a livelihood, people have no choice but to work. There has been a controversial debate about the working conditions in the society whether working longer hour for a limited number of days is better or to work five days a week for a shorter hour. Personally speaking, I think that working shorter hour for five days during a week makes one’s life more acceptable, and the reasons to support my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that working longer hours consecutively during a day, especially for more than one day, exhaust the body and deplete its energy. Nowadays, people prefer to work in a limited number of hours a day because the tiredness and the lack of energy resulting from working for long hours do not let employees enjoy their off days properly. My own experience can be a compelling example of what I mean. I worked five days in the university from 8 in the morning to 2 in the afternoon. Under such a circumstance, I had free time in my evening after university and could do whatever I wished to do. However, fate put my life in a way such that I now have to work in an office for three whole days which means from 7 in the morning to 7 in the afternoon. Although I have free time the other 4 days and can rest, it is irritating when I think I have to get back to work after off days.

Furthermore, working longer hour even for three days a week have a considerable adverse effect on the quality and quantity of time we can spend with our loved ones. When we work three whole days, we no longer have time during the days to give attention to our family or to do activities our family expect from us. Although we have free time the other four days, either we are resting these days or other members of the family engage in their office or work. As a result, working three whole days, which is out of the norm of society, can loosen the foundation of a family and expose it to unpleasant repercussions. However, working five days a week for shorter hours can provide an opportunity for people to enjoy the free time of the day after their work with their family. Therefore, having the same free time every day as in the evenings can give families a more influential way to strengthen their relationship and deal with their problem.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons and examples, I do hold the opinion that it is more beneficial for people to work for shorter hours during five days. Not only does it help individuals to save their energy and make their off days more enjoyable, but it also makes an opportunity for people to spend their free time with their family every day.