Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Our work place is a very important part of our lives. It is where we develop our ideas and increase our knowledge. Some people would believe that working with a group of people on a team is a great idea; others would think that working independently is better. In my view, I would prefer to work alone for two important reasons.

The main reason is that we can make our own schedule. Arrange a common time for a group of people could be very challenging. Also, people could be from different places and they will need to loose an entire day just really working for a couple of hours. For example, I remember an event that happened to me last year when I was doing my internship in Paris. I worked for an engineering company that have three different offices around the city. One time, my boss designated my to create a meeting with some engineers from the other places. I remember that was a very difficult to find an hour that everybody will be available. I tried to for an entire month without success and this was just the first one of many that we will need to make. After talking with my boss, we decided that dividing tasks would be more efficient and nowadays we just do in that way. As you can see, working independently showed to be a lot more easy for everybody.

Another reason is that we could be more focused during the job. Many people who love to work in group are always complaining about excessive conversation during meetings. Moreover, if we will be among friends this could be worst. It is very difficult to concentrate when someone start a subject when we are working in a group. For instance, I remember when I was in college and I had a very hard exam about aerodynamics to study. So, me and my colleagues reserved a study office in our college’s library to study together. Is was awful, every time someone started a new discussion, talking about all kinds of subjects. I stayed about four hours trying to study and, in the end, I realised that I barely touched my book. The result was that everybody received a tremendous bad mark on that test. This experience taught me that to always work alone when I have a very important thing to do.

In sum, though some may prefer working in group, definitively working independently is better. Not only you can create our own work time but also you will have more focus in your tasks. Everyone should try to work alone to see all the benefits that it have.