It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friends are one of the most important people in our lives. Some of them are permanent whereas others are temporary. Some people are in favor of maintaining life-long friendships whereas others prefer to make new friends. Even though I like to meet new friends, I believe that possessing old friends is more important than making new friends. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, maintaining a friendship with old friends provide an opportunity to strengthen our ties. As we get older with together, we share common moments and this strengthens our bonds day by day. In addition, it allows us to learn each other's likes and dislikes. My friendship with my old friend Kerem is a compelling example of this. I met him when I was a kid and we usually spent our time with together. As I knew him in time, my attachment to him was getting stronger because whenever my morale got worse, he was always nearby my side. We were also financially strained because we came from poor families. Whenever we need some money, we supported each other financially. One day, I was dismissed from my job and he came to me to console me and ask me if I need some money whereas my other friends just watch what was happening. That is why I believe that having old friends is important.

Indeed, as our ties get stronger, we start to trust each other more. When we meet new friends, it is not so easy to trust them because we do not know them very well. As for old friends, we can find enough time to test them if they are trustworthy. My own experience demonstrates this. Once, I wanted to learn how much our ties between Kerem and me were strong so, I told him a fake secret that I had stolen pieces of jewelry from my neighbor since I had financial problems. he just told me that he was never going to noise this around but he could not stay friend with me. So, I told him about my hoax and I learned if I could trust him.

To sum up, I strongly believe that keeping old friends is more important than making new friends. this is because our friendship gets strengthen in time and because we can find trustworthy friends.