It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is ubiquitous for modern citizens to gaze at digital devices to watch news as a daily grind. When it comes to whether watching or reading news presented from same standpoint is the best, individuals’ opinions differ from person to person. While some claim that getting information from the same view allows people to gain the idea more clearly, I, on the contrary, contend that it is much better to consume news written by people whose views differ from that of readers.

To commence with, one of the most compelling reasons in advocacy of the thesis is that pupils would learn to make own perspectives more flexible. When citizens and the news reporters observe face news from the same angle, citizens struggle from making trials to see it from different perspectives. This often leads to an issue that pupils stick to one problem with only one approach. For instance, there was a debate among citizens in Japan about whether advocating students to have part time jobs is acceptable. Those who have teenage children insist to an opinion that it makes bad influences on children’s education process; whereas students claim that parents should allow them to accumulate social experiences. But when they were persuaded to consider standpoints of each other, they could think thoroughly about this topic and could become more flexible. From this case we can imply that not considering the opposing perspectives would result in enormous frictions.

In addition, reading news from different perspectives provides with opportunities for readers to learn the topic discussed deeper. In other words, it would guide the readers to see the whole picture of an issue. Take my experience for an instance. The assignment was to make researches about solutions for environment pollutions of each countries. I focused on residents’ opinions first since I can understand people’s voices which is having the same conditions with me. However, when I read articles scientists had wrote, my mind shifted. I realized that there were misunderstandings and lack of fluent communications between citizens and scientists. Therefore, I started to look at different view of this issue and could understand the issue as a whole.

Furthermore, getting engaged with different views cultivate pupils’ criticizing skills. By reading news from different view, we can easily realize that all the issues are not single-sided; actually they can draw many opinions. To illustrate this, my sister Lydia had read a news about protecting endangered animals and read many opinions regarding this. She realized that every issue is tangled by different features so that she started to search for criticisms that is germane to issues in her daily lives. Now that she can easily find many perspectives of an issue and criticize it with thorough analysis.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that a clearer understanding of news is brought by the presenters who share the same views with readers, the benefits reading news from different standpoint brings far outweighs the drawbacks.