Is it more important for students to learn ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

People are the corner stone of every successful society; indeed, the more individuals of a country are qualified, the more the country is powerful. In this regard, education plays a pivotal role in preparing human beings for the future. Therefore, it is crystal clear that why all of the governments try to enhance the level of education in theirs community, which assists them in bringing about wealthy communities. With this in mind, some think that it stands to reasons that it is better for students to learn ideas and concepts rather than learning facts, while others hold the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the first attitude carries more weight for many reasons, three of the most substantial of which are discussed below.

The most compelling reason is that it is true that facts in the books do not cover all subjects. Even though they are crucial in taking exams and getting high scores in schools and universities, a person can rarely implement those facts out of school and in the work. On the other hand, people can reach the benefits of learning main ideas and concepts of issues so that they can apply them in the different circumstances--or, to put it in another way, understanding the main idea of subjects gives individuals an opportunity to encounter with unpredicted occasions simultaneously. As a point in view, when I was a business students in university, in Isfahan, we had free-discussion classes in which we was learning how to solve simulated business classes. Teachers was letting different students express various ideas, then they were explaining the positive and negative aspect of each idea. By this method, students learnt how utilize their knowledge in the real life which was much better than offering one solution in order to solve specific example.

Another interpretation as to why I do not concur with the latter perspective in the introductory paragraph lies in the fact that education is not hast to with how many facts you one has memorized. Rather, it is a way by which one can improve his or her thinking ability. There are a great deal of issues regarding politic, history, art, to name but a few. What is important about them is the lessons behind them rather than their statistics. Understanding concepts and ideas develops students' critical thinking ability. For instance, we have heard a lot about Mohandas Gandhi . It is not important for us to learn and memorize facts such as his birth date or the length of time that he had spent in the prisons. What is essential is his idea that he did his best so as to achieve it. As a result, learning concepts and idea helps man kind to learn.

In summary, having considered all the aforementioned ingredients discussed above, I do believe that the merits of learning facts and concepts are more than those of learning facts on the grounds that it gives one a chance not only to learn them how to deal with unexpected situation , but also develop their thinking ability.