It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science." Do you agree with the following statement? Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

With the development of human civilization, both STEM and humanities are extremely important in our life. It goes without saying that there is certainly no need for us to compare which one is more crucial. Moreover, students should not be forced to put more emphasis on either of these fields.

Nowadays in this free and democratic world, everyone deserves the right to choose to learn what he loves as long as it does not violate the law or morals. Every student has his own personality and talents, so it is therefore unreasonable to ask them to follow the strict footprints. Giving free and wide choices to students is the right way to let them realize the best version of themselves, instead of letting them fall into an unchangeable mold. For example, if Einstein had been asked to learn more literature or art, the famous “Theory of Relativity” might not have been proposed. In addition, it would be rue loss to human culture if Mozart had been told to study more math and science, and then wasted his talent of music. Therefore, it is undeniable that guiding students to what they love or are suited to is the best way to flourish in this world.

Art and literature are indeed essential to enhancing and improving our lives, while math and science are precisely the knowledge needed to develop our technology and give us this convenient life. Developing everything in a balanced way is how this work. Math and science enable the progress of technology; however, technology that is too advanced might lead to some new problems such as environmental pollution or cybercrime. Additionally, it is believed that the education of literature and art can provide positive effects on people, which is helpful to solve such problems. The growth of human science is also helpful to cope with troubles that technology has brought forth. Simultaneously, technology is able to stimulate ideas in literature or art, which people enable them to thrive. Without a doubt, social science and natural science complement each other to improve our world.

As we can see from above, it is necessary to impose a limit of what to learn on students, because they have the right to choose by themselves and it is also better for them. Furthermore, the development in a balanced and well-rounded way is inarguably the best way to give us access to a more wonderful world.