It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

By and large, there is a controversial issue in the world that whether students should understand concepts or facts are merely enough for them. I firmly believe that students ought to study concepts at the school or university. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

Firstly, understanding concepts help in bearing fact in the students' mind. To put it in another way, when someone knows how a fact comes from or from what concepts in the science brings out this fact, they would have a deep understanding. Consequently, they will never forget it in their life. As a personal example, I am a mathematics teacher. I experimented two ways of teaching in the class. One of them was teaching merely derived formulas to students and another one was learning proofs of the formulas and encouraged them to rewrite the proof in the home. The second group of students got better scores in the final exam. Also, host of the students from the first group bemoaned about forgetting formulas during the exam.

Secondly, if the students want to continue their education through upper levels like Ph.D. therefore, facts wouldn’t assist them to get their goals. Admittedly, some of the universities in the world hold an entrance exam for applied students. In the exam, they would not ask about facts. Attendances have to have an acceptable knowledge about a field that they are going to study. As a result, teaching facts means sacrificing them to other students.

Last but not least, some people might think that studying more facts and focusing on practical parts of education will make students ready for the labor market. I think it is not necessarily a case. Although background information is beneficial for readiness in a job, these kinds of limited knowledge can learn during working. No matter how much students are taught, it is still scarce, comparing to what they are going to learn in a profession. On the other hand, because of the emergence of the technology era, most of the elite jobs in the world such as programming and marketing are based on concepts rather than facts. Nowadays, people need to upgrade themselves during working which knowing just fact would help them to progress in their career.

In a nutshell, I utterly believe people ought to study concepts. Teaching facts to them wouldn't help them to become advanced in their life