It is more important for teachers to connect with students than to be experts in their fields.

Some people think that a teacher’s ability to bond with students is vital. However, I think that the most significant consideration with regard to teachers is whether they have a profound understanding of the subject they teach for the following reasons. First, the main duty of a teacher is to provide students with an education. Second, teachers who do not have sufficient knowledge are not viewed as authority figures by their students.

First of all, the primary role of a teacher is to educate students, teachers who know a lot about a subject are able to quip their students with knowledge, which means that they have a much a greater impact on their students’ future success. Let me bring my personal story as an example, the teacher who influenced me the most was my math teacher in high school. Even though I didn’t have many opportunities to build a personal relationship with him, I learned more in his class than I did in any other. Because he knew so much about the information that was not included in the textbook. Thanks to him, I realized I had a talent for math and decided to pursue a career in engineering. If I had not learned the general subject at that time, I could not have my current career.

Second, teachers who lack knowledge don’t have authority in their classrooms. If a teacher’s understanding of the subject is limited, the students in the class will question his or her ability and will not show respect. For instance, my sixth grade teacher couldn’t answer the students’ questions well and often made mistakes when explaining difficult concepts. The students often ridiculed him for this and refused to follow his instructions. If he had demonstrated that he had a lot of knowledge, we would have been much more respectful towards him.

In conclusion, the principal function of a teacher is to provide information to students, and teachers need to show that they fully comprehend the subject being taught to maintain control of the classroom. In this regard, I believe that having extensive knowledge is more important for teachers than being able to interact well with students.