It is more important for teachers to connect with students than to be experts in their fields.

Some people may think that a teacher's ability to bond with students is essential. However, in my opinion, It is of great importance for teachers to have a profound understanding of the subjects they teach. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explorer in the following essay.

To begin with, the primary role of a teacher is educating students. Teachers who know much about a subject can equip their students with the knowledge, which means that they have a much great impact on students' future success. My own experience in high school is a compelling illustration of this. The teacher who influenced me the most was my math teacher in 10th grade. Even though I did not have a great deal of opportunity to build a personal relationship with him, I learned more in his class than I did in any other. Because he knew so much about the subject, he was able to teach the course materials effectively and also provide information, that was not contained in a textbook, to students. As a result of his class, I realized that I had a talent for math and decided to pursue a career in engineering.

Furthermore, teachers, who lack knowledge, do not have authority in their class. In other words, If a teacher's understanding of their domain is limited, the students in the class will question his ability and will not show respect to the teacher. For instance, my 6th grade teacher could not answer the students' questions properly and often made mistakes when explaining complex concepts. The students oftentimes ridiculed him for this and refused to follow his instructions. had he demonstrated that he had a lot of knowledge, students would have been much more respectful towards him.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the most important skill for teachers is having extensive knowledge. This is because teachers' principal function is to provide students with information and because teachers are required to be professional in subjects for maintaining authority in their classroom.