Providing students with grades promote learning.

It is of importance for students to be encouraged to study. In my opinion, I believe that the grading system is an essential factor in promoting students to learn. I feel this way for two reasons, which I explain deeply in the following essay.

To begin with, grades provide an external stimulus for students to achieve. To be specific, plenty of students are not particularly interested in certain subjects or classes, so they are not likely to be inspired to learn unless they are graded on their performance. In other words, students will often study in order to get a good grade even if they are not terribly fond of the subject that they are required to learn. My own experience is a compelling illustration of this. I really disliked my chemistry class in high school. I simply did not have much interest in the subjects. However, I wanted to get a high grade, so I decided to study hard on the subject. As a result of spending long hours learning chemistry, I became interested in the subject and I acquired an A in my chemistry class. Had the grading system not existed, I would not have been interested in chemistry and gotten a good grade.

Furthermore, grades are solid evidence for the progression of their studies. Without grades, students would not be able to determine how well they do in particular subjects, making it impossible to know which areas of their education need more effort. grading system also motivates students to focus on subjects they do poorly. For instance, when I was a freshman in university majoring computer science, I am totally convinced that I was pretty good at programming. However, I got a bad score on the midterm exam in my programming class, and I then realized that I was not proficient in the subject. Before long, I tried to put more effort into areas where I was lacking. Therefore, with knowledge of my progression in education, I could focus on subjects where I am poor at and get a better result.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that It is great to award grades to students so that they are motivated to learn. This is because grades give students an impetus to accomplish and because grades are a method of tracking students' study progress.