large or small universities?

Studying in university is one of the most exciting and memorable years of each person’s life. You can experience so many amazing things and as much as the university get bigger, you can have better and greater experiences. Some people thinks it is better to study in a small university which give them this chance to know almost everyone there, others prefer a large university which can provide bigger opportunities for them. In my view, large universities which have several thousand students are better and I would like to elaborate my opinion with following reasons.

First, we can meet more people and make bigger communications in large universities. When I was studying in bachelor’s degree, I was in a big university which had several thousand students and it was such an amazing opportunity for me. By studying in that big university, I had this chance to meet so many people and some of them became my best friends. These friends helped a lot after my graduation and I could start my own job thanks to them. Beside finding new friends, I had this chance to meet some well know professors of my academic major and they helped me to continue my education up to master’s degree level. In my view, having this chance to find so many good friends and having class with the best professors and experts of your field, is the thing which happens in large universities more than small universities with just few hundreds of students.

Second, big universities can provide better chances and opportunities for students. We all know Harvard university; a well know, big and wealthy university. This university provides full financial aids for lots of students each year and give them this chance to collaborate with big companies. Beside Harvard, almost all of large universities have this ability to provide better financial and educational situations for their student and this is one of the reasons which make large universities stand out of the box. I studied my master’s degree in a small university which had so many financial problems. I could not get any fund to do my thesis project and I had to do it self-funded which caused me some problems. Another problem I faced to, was the lack of needed equipment for my experiments and I had to ask some factories to let me do some part of my research in their labs. If I had this chance to study in a large university, I could probably ask university for some fund and do my research in bigger scale.

To cut the long story short, I want to conclude that big universities have deeper communication with industry and some big companies give notable amount of funds to them and ask them for a help. This can make large universities an amazing opportunity for those students who want to do some researches in big scales and have a connection with industry and real world.