making new friends or maintaining old friendships

The value of friendship and its place in one's life depends to a great extent on the lens through which one is looking. As the mindsight regarding friendship differs from one person to another, people's attitudes towards this concept varies as well. While many people make their friends the primal priority in their lives, and their presence is required for the individual's proper functioning, others might not attribute this great influential role to friends. I agree with the latter, and I do not particullary emotional concerning my friends. Hence, I believe the capability to make the acquintance of new people and then reach the frienship level is more practical and also a decisive factor in an individual's quality of life. I will demonstrate further as follows.

First, the only constant in the human nature is change. While people get older, they gain more exprience, go through significant events in their lives, attain insight on many aspects, and their collective perspective changes. Therefore, the people who were once our friends may not fit our current life anymore. This can be caused by many factors such as a alteration in one's daily schedule, financial status, occupational status, marital status, location of living, or simply a change in taste regarding the people one prefers to be spending time with. As an example, refering to myself, although I have had many friends in different eras of my life, I am not currently friends with many of them because I graduated and moved to another city. Additionally, as I have grown and my ideology has changed, I believe I have outgrown many of my friends as well.

Second, the charactristics that enable a person to make friends easily can be very beneficial in advancements of many dimensions of life. Everyone requires friends to answer their social needs. While these desires are less pronounced in some people such as introvert, their existence cannot be denied in anyone. We can almost be certain that all humans are social creatures to a extent. However, many challenging circumstances, such as living in a new country for immigrants, a feude between friends, and other situations, can push a person apart from their previous friends and leaving them in desparate need of making ones. This is where the ability to impress a person by kindness and likeability can be very helpful. In addition to that, making new friend broadens a person's horizons and contributes greatly to their growth.

In conclusion, as I believe individuals are always changing and might require different kinds of people to be their friends as they grow, and additionally, special conditions may force a person to attain new friendships, in my opinion the quality to be able to make new friends is far more essential in a person.