Many companies sell products or services but at the same time cause environmental damage. Someone said it can be stop by ask them to pay penalty, such as a higher tax when they cause the environmental damage. Others said there are better ways to stop them from harming environment.

In the modern society, the environmental problems are attracting increasing attention. The environment pollution has various sources, and one of those primary streams is the pollution comes from the companies. Among a number of methods proposed to ameliorate our environment, a penalty to those companies who caused environmental damage is agreed by majority of the public. However, from my perspective, I believe this method is not enough to solve the environmental problem.

Firstly, the penalty could be insufficient compared to those company's profit. Take the example of those factory producing papers. They cut down millions of trees annually to make paper which cause the decline of habitats of wild animal and many other environmental problems. Nonetheless, the producing process of the paper involves several toxic chemical matters. Those toxic matters would be mixed into the exhausted fume and emitted into the air. However, the penalty cannot prevent them from doing so. After the payment of the penalty, they can still earn money from their product.

Moreover, there is no guarantee that the fines from those companies would be used to improve the environmental condition. There could be other usages of the fines such the fund on research, and the public welfare. As a result, the budget to ameliorate the environment could be insufficient to compensate the damage caused by those companies. In China, the environmental problem has been a serious one for years, and the government had already claimed the policy to ask those industrial company to pay extra money for their pollutant. However, the haze is still around numbers of cities including the national capital Beijing. One possible explanation is that the government received the tax, and use it to build the facilities and buildings such as the railway and the subway. Those project, in return, make the air condition worse for the soil particles mixed into the air in the process of constructing. In this sense, the penalty is not enough to make up those damage caused by those companies.

From my perspective, it could be effective to publish the law of the penalty on environmental pollution. However, it should be combined with other methods. For instance, forcing those company to set the machine which can remove the harmful matter in the exhausted fume or wastewater could be a good one to solve the damage.

Put all in the nutshell, it not sufficient to only ask penalty to those companies. However, this approach could work with other combined enforcement.