Many people welcome the opening of shopping areas near their homes.  On the other hand, some people are strongly opposed to the construction of such facilities.  If the opening of a large shopping center in your neighborhood were announced, would you support or oppose its construction? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Large shopping centers are one of the most impressive urban attractions in our new metropolises. however, there is an active controversy over whether we should allow that they are built in local neighborhood or not. they, like a double-edged sword have both pros and cons. however, I personally subscribe to the view that their demerits are more than their merits for the local people. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this issue.

To begin with, although the great shopping buildings near houses could bring an array of merits, its drawbacks outweigh its benefits. people usually need to have a peaceful life in a residential place. By constructing a very vast shopping area near residential districts, many other phenomena such as parking lots, amusement parks and hotels will appear abruptly. this, unfortunately, leads to create an overpopulated area near the houses, which is not desirable at all. To give a more vivid picture, I would like to recount a personal story. Ten years ago, I dwelled with my family in suburb of a metropolis in our country, named Isfahan. The mayor decided to enhance the popular attraction and life quality of the district by adding some modern lofty building. Not many months past, the population who circulate in evening in the district increased to threefold. our green and calm neighborhood changed to a very crowded dwelling which was always noisy and messy. we leaved our house only two months after the construction. this example clearly demonstrate that the new massive construction could easily damage the local residents' lives.

In another point of view, each parish has some small local businesses. Stablishing new massive shopping areas can hardly damage their work and face them with economic hardship. In our modern complex society, people naturally prefer to go to the great malls and supermarkets simply because they are much more attractive. With their great attractive big shops and colorful storefronts they can easily drag all the customers’' eyes towards their excellence. In such situation no one even think again to go shopping to the small craftsmen's shops and local minimarkets. As an in-depth research conducted in developing countries demonstrated, a hefty of the local businesses perish due to the appearance of the big splendid malls in local neighborhoods in these countries.

Drawing upon the aforementioned reasons, constructing big shopping areas has more disadvantages than advantages. because not only does it lead to overpopulation in private residential places, but also it can damage all the little markets and local businesses.