Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, education plays a crucial role in the progress of our life. Parents apply myriad types of manners to persuade their children to have good performance in their educational life, one of which is, rewarding them with the money. it, like a double-edged sword, has both advantageous and disadvantageous. I, personally, subscribe to the viewpoint that suggesting the young children money, to encourage them to study well could have numerous destructive effects on them. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this issue.

First and foremost, school-age children who are neglecting hardworking, need to understand the value of studying itself. By giving them money, they become conditional, expecting to gain money whenever they try to succeed. however, of course, we all know that knowledge, besides its other benefits, has innate worthiness. Unlike the children who have intrinsic enthusiasm to learn new concepts, ideas, and facts, these kids become voracious to achieve more money. As a consequence, they lose their tendency for the education itself. As a case in point, I would like to recount a personal story. I have two aunts, one of which did all of her efforts to help his son to be successful in his school by rewarding money and toys. The other, however, did not interfere with her daughter's education by such behaviors. As time goes by, the boy abandons his education after high school, pursuing a well-payed job. Nonetheless, my other cousin, enter MIT university after her graduation from high school. this example could clearly demonstrate the negative effects of such treatment methods.

Furthermore, thanks to advanced psychological breakthroughs, nowadays we access to multifarious types of scientific methods of pedagogy and upbringing. In these new methods, both punishment and accomplishment are strictly banned. Because of its adverse influences on young children. In fact, it prevents children's mental development. A mentally grown-up adult can easily weigh the merits and demerits of some specific action and decide to do it or not. however, if someone, for his entire life, just has been encouraged, by rewards, to do something, he would be incapable of distinguishing the drawbacks and the benefits of something, regardless of its financial value and income. As a recently conducted research at McGill university, demonstrates, children between 9 and 12 which are free to decide on their own responsibility, had more powerful academic performances in school exams. Hence, it is crystal clear that following new psychological methods could bring us more advantageous.

Drawing upon the aforementioned reasons, the demerits of encouraging the children with money to do enough efforts in their educations, sugar-coat its merits. Not only does it make them ignore the innate value of science and knowledge, but it also deprive them to develop their potential mental capability of recognition of the consequences of their acts and reacts.